SPA governing bodies re-elected with highest voting ever in the history of the institution

The governing bodies of the Portuguese Society of Authors have been reelected on November 20, with a total of 301 votes from all over the country. This was the highest voting ever in the history of the cooperative of the Portuguese authors, a fact that SPA is justifiably proud to record and announce. The list headed by José Jorge Letria, the President of the Board of Directors, and comprised of Rui Vieira Nery as President of the Committee of the General Assembly and Pedro Abrunhosa as President of the Supervisory Council, includes some of the most representative names of all areas of creation of the Portuguese culture because SPA is one of the few societies in the world that is completely multidisciplinary.

For the second time, like in the 2010 elections, it was possible to create a single list, which was a unifying and mobilizing factor that greatly contributed to the good results achieved during the four-year period that is now coming to an end.

The representative of the list was the writer Manuel Alegre, a cooperative member of SPA, and a Committee of Honor was created which included 200 names of prestigious Portuguese authors. The motto of this comprehensive and mobilizing candidacy was “Everything for Authors”, which symbolizes the commitment of the cooperative (it celebrates 90 years of existence in May 2015) to do everything to defend the rights and the interests of its members on every level.

SPA’s new governing bodies will assume office during an event that is to take place on January 5, 2015.

Let it be reminded that SPA is currently working on the implementation of several strategically important projects, namely the cooperation with Portuguese-speaking countries. This project was launched in the middle of 2013 and involves societies from such countries as Angola, Mozambique, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau and East Timor.

Among other positions, José Jorge Letria is, since April this year, the President of CISAC’s European Committee, a member of the Board of Directors of the European Grouping of Societies of Authors and a member of the Executive Committee of the Writers and Directors Worldwide.

Lisbon, November 20, 2014
The Secretariat of the “Everything for Authors” Candidacy



    Av. Duque de Loulé, 31
    1069 – 153 Lisboa